Four to six inches of snow forecast for Custer County over weekend

National Weather Service

The National Weather Service (NWS) out of North Platte has reduced the amount of freezing precipitation expected over the weekend and increased the amount of snow.

Patchy freezing drizzle and snow is expect Friday night changing to snow through late Friday evening. Light to moderate snow is expected through Saturday.

A winter weather advisory will be in effect from 6 p.m. CST /5 p.m. MST this evening (Friday, Feb. 23, 2018) to 9 p.m. CST /8 p.m. MST Saturday for the following counties in Nebraska Brown-Rock-Holt-Thomas-Blaine-Loup-Garfield-Wheeler-McPherson-Logan-Custer-Keith-Perkins-Lincoln-Chase-Hayes-Frontier including the cities of Ainsworth, Bassett, Rose, Oneill, Atkinson, Thedford, Halsey, Dunning, Purdum, Brewster, Taylor, Burwell, Bartlett, Ericson, Tryon, Ringgold, Stapleton, Broken Bow, Ogallala, Paxton, Grant, North Platte, Champion, Enders, Imperial, Jauneta, Hayes Center, Curtis, Eustis, and Maywood.

Mixed precipitation is expected with total snow accumulations of 4 to 7 inches in portions of central, north central, southwest and west central Nebraska.

Plan on slippery road conditions. Be prepared for reduced visibilities at times.

A winter storm moving out of the Central Rockies into the Mississippi Valley will bring the potential for 4 to 7 inches along a swath from southwest Nebraska to north central Nebraska.
Current thinking for the time period of heaviest snow accumulations are Saturday morning through early afternoon with snowfall rates of an inch per hour or more possible. Patchy
blowing snow is also possible Saturday afternoon.