Primary election garners low voter turnout

With still a few absentee and provisional ballots left to come in, Custer County agreed with the rest of the state in pushing Republican Deb Fischer to an easy victory in the race for the U.S. Senate.Fischer earned and unofficial total of 1,173 votes in Custer County, while Jon Bruning brought in 478 votes and Don Stenberg 254.For the Republican representative for Congress, it was Adrian Smith in a landslide over Bob Lingenfelter by an unofficial total of 1,700 to 211.Bob Kerrey garnered 292 votes in Custer County on the Democratic Senate ticket, while Chuck Hassebrook earned 70 votes.For the Arnold School Board, six candidates will move on to the general election in November. They are: Diana Coleman, 192; Duane Bowers, 159; Eric Nelson, 105; Holly Hornung Redmund, 98; Tammy Weinman, 91 and Nathan Mills, 65.The race for the Callaway District Hospital Board was decided last night with Greg Johnson earning the most votes with 303. Shari Wolken earned 244, and Patrick Osmond 196. Those three will fill the board seats.These results still remain unofficial, except for the Callaway District Hospital Board. Custer County saw a 29.3 percent voter turnout. For more, including state results, see this week's Custer County Chief.