Winter Storm Warning for parts of Sandhills, Panhandle through Tuesday (022018)

National Weather Service

A long duration winter weather event will impact the northeastern Nebraska panhandle and northwestern Sandhills tonight through Tuesday morning. Snow will develop overnight,then again on Monday night. By Tuesday morning, snow accumulations of 4 to 8 inches are likely with local amounts up to a foot possible in the Pine Ridge of northern Sheridan county. Bitterly cold wind chills are expected Tuesday morning and may range from -20 to -30 degrees.

A Winter Storm Warning is in effect beginning 5 p.m. Mountain/6 p.m. Central today (Sunday Feb. 18, 2018) through 11 a.m. Mountain/12 p.m. Central Tuesday for Sheridan and Western Cherry Counties including the cities of Gordon, Rushville, Cody, Eli, Merriman, and Kilgore.

Heavy snow is expected with total snow accumulations of 5 to 10 inches and localized amounts around 12 inches near Pine Ridge. A light glaze of ice is expected at the onset of the storm.

Plan on difficult travel conditions. Be prepared for significant reductions in visibility at times. The cold wind chills as low as 30 below zero could cause frostbite on exposed skin in as little as 30 minutes.

A Winter Storm Warning means significant amounts of snow, sleet and ice will make travel very hazardous or impossible. The latest road conditions for the state you are calling from can be obtained by calling 5 1 1.