Ag Society elects new board members

The Custer County Ag Society Board of Directors gained two, not so new faces Saturday afternoon at the organization’s annual meeting. Board members are up for election every three years, and any registered voter who is a resident of Custer County, and present at the annual meeting is eligible to vote.Kevin Cooksley, Bill Shirkey and Jess Taylor were up for election. Following the count, Steve Horn won the vote against Shirkey and Brad Parliament won the vote against Cooksley, with Taylor retaining his position.The public elects the board members, and the members then vote to establish officers. Following the board election, a board ‘reorganization’ meeting was conducted electing Steve Horn as president, Neil Jorgenson as vice president, Scott Kaelin as secretary and Gary Wright as treasurer. Kaelin and Wright were already on the board.Horn has been on the board before, and said that the 4-H and FFA prgrams are dear to his heart. Parliament said he was an active 4-H member every year eligible, and continues to compete at the fairgrounds in equine events. Both talked about the value of the fairgrounds to the public and the need to get the finances in order.“We are here to serve instead of govern,” said Horn, adding that the board works as a team, and that public input is welcome and invited.For more on the Ag Society’s annual meeting see this week’s Custer County Chief.