Dawson County Raceway 8-5-18

Kelly Ninas
Staff Writer

With just one night of racing action left in the season at Dawson County Raceway, every point matters that much more, especially for Sunday evening victors Anthony Roth, Jacob Olmstead, Mike Nichols and Luke Wassom.
Grabbing an early lead and never looking back, Anthony Roth of Columbus, Nebraska was able to keep the momentum of his dream season alive by scoring another IMCA Modified Feature victory. Roth started the feature event on the inside of the third row when the green flag dropped at the start of the main event. Working the bugs out of a new hot rod, the Iceman David Murray Jr. of Oberlin, Kansas was able to find the groove that worked best during the second half of the feature event to earn a podium finish in second place overall. Recovering quite nicely from an early incident during the feature event, the Eddyville Flyer Chuck Stryker was able to pilot his rocketship to a third place finish for his efforts. Stryker of Eddyville, Nebraska started the feature event on the inside of the second row on his way to finishing third overall. Kale Smith of Davenport and Rubber Duck Bryan Herrick of Curtis rounded out the top five finishers in the feature.
Working his magic during the final laps of the feature event, Jacob Olmstead drove into the winner’s circle after winning the IMCA Northern Sport Modified Feature event. Olmstead had to slice and dice through traffic after starting on the outside of the third row to garner the lead. Veteran Wheelman Bo Egge of Kearney showcased his talents behind the wheel of the Steinmark tribute car to earn a runner-up finish in the feature. Egge started the feature on the inside of the fourth row, as he flexed his muscle and versatility to earn the stellar result. Jacob Wolsleben of Cozad was among the leaders from the onset of the feature, to keep his car clean and out of trouble. Wolsleben started the feature on the inside of the second row.
The winningest IMCA Stock Car wheelman Mike Nichols was able to keep the streak alive by winning the feature event at Dawson County Raceway as he knocks on the door of 500 career wins in a stock car. Nichols was able to gain the lead in the early going after starting on the outside of the fifth row at the onset. Nichols cruised to the victory by using the cushion to his advantage. Holding his own and rocking and rolling to a runner-up finish was Jeff Whiting of Gothenburg. Whiting started on the outside of the fourth row to make his drive onto the podium in the stock car division. Mikey Dancer of North Platte flexed his muscle and his hot rods powerplant for all that it was worth to earn a third place finish. Dancer was able to dial-in his car to the tune of a third place finish after starting in the fifth row when the green flag was first waved. Earning top five finishes in one of the most competitive classes in IMCA racing were: Tyler Easterday of Lexington and Kearney’s Dana Morgan in fourth and fifth, respectively.
Scoring an early lead and finishing strong was the formula for success for Awesome Luke Wassom of North Platte as he claimed the victory in the IMCA Hobby Stock feature. Wassom started the feature event on the outside of the fourth row and used the fast lane around the Dawson County Raceway to score the lead and victory. Trying his best to gain ground on Wassom during the waning laps, Allyn Myers of Broken Bow fell short of the top rung on the ladder, as he was forced to settle with second place accolades. Earning a third place finish for his efforts was Caleb Hetrick of Grand Island. Hetrick was involved in an early lap incident and he recovered quite well by earning show honors.
There are two total nights of racing action left at the Dawson County Raceway, this coming Sunday evening is the Championship Night with the Connie Jewett Memorial Race being held the following week in Lexington, Nebraska.
(Unofficial Results)
--IMCA Modified Feature: 1. 60iv-Anthony Roth; 2. 97m-David Murray Jr; 3. 19-Chuck Stryker; 4. 50s-Kale Smith; 5. 0hp-Bryan Herrick; 6. 39-Scott Eaton; 7. 50-Scott Smith; 8. 50c-Colton Osborn.
--IMCA Northern Sport Modified Feature: 1. 88j-Jacob Olmstead; 2. 00-Bo Egge; 3. 01-Jacob Wolsleben; 4. 15d-Jacob Slough; 5. 34n-Tom Nelson Jr; 6. 88-Eric Kackmeister; 7. 15k-Jamey Kennicutt; 8. Andrew Rayburn; 9. 24j-Dennis Price Jr; 10. 68-Craig Howard.
--IMCA Stock Car Feature: 1. 63-Mike Nichols; 2. 16w-Jeff Whiting; 3. 45-Mikey Dancer; 4. 53e-Tyler Easterday; 5. 19-Dana Morgan; 6. 24-Bob Chalupa; 7. 57x-Dan Stoll; 8. 11p-Jamie Porterfield; 9. 57-Scott Stoll; 10. 84-James Sheldon.
--IMCA Hobby Stock Feature: 1. 2w-Luke Wassom; 2. 99m-Allyn Myers; 3. 44-Caleb Hetrick; 4. 72b-Jacob Hagan; 5. 5-Chuck Ledbetter; 6. 28d-Devin Bjorklund; 7. 20b-Brady Henderson; 8. 12t-Tanner Jones; 9. 88m-TC McKain; 10. 88-Morgan Olmstead.