Fourteen area wrestlers advance through the first, second rounds of consolations

Fourteen area wrestlers will continue through the State tournament, which resumes at 5 p.m. today, after surviving the first and second round consolation matches earlier today. Four of those wrestlers are from Sargent/Burwell, they are Evan Gideon (103), Kirby Pomplun (119), Grady McIntosh (125) and Brett Mauler (160). Their wins today pushed Sargent/Burwell in the lead in the team standings, just four points ahead of Wood River. Seven of the nine Sargent/Burwell qualifiers are still in contention for a medal.Also making it through the first two consolation rounds in Class B was Broken Bow's Matt Denson at 135 pounds. He will wrestle Bennington's Jon Curzon tonight in the consolation quarterfinals.Advancing in Class D were Anslemo-Merna's Jake Wells (140) and Colten Fales (215); Ansley/Arcadia's Tommy Roth (103); Mullen's Jarod Spurlin (145), Tyrell Wilson (171), Nick Licking (189) and Charles Kramer (285); Sandhills/Thedford's Nate McFadden (135) and South Loup's Dylan Chesley (152).Area wrestlers eliminated from the State Tournament today were Anslemo-Merna's Colton Rush; Ansley/Arcadia's Brady Masters and Joe Gregory; Broken Bow's Devin O'Brien and Derek McCormick; Mullen's Kory Phillips; Sandhills/Thedford's Tjade Rodocker; South Loup's Wyatt Eggleston, Clinton Fauss and Austin Fauss along with SEM's Bryce Brown, Cale Eacker, Zach Burden, Collin Donahoo, Austin Pierce and Cy Barnes.The 5th Session concludes Day 2 of the State Tournament. All classes will be in action starting at 5 p.m. with the championship semifinals followed by the 3rd round consolation matches.Saturday mornings schedule begins at 9:30 a.m. with the consolation semifinals followed by the 3rd and 5th place matches. The championship finals are scheduled to begin at 2:30 p.m. tomorrow afternoon.