Six area wrestlers advance to Class D championship semifinals

Forty-one area wrestlers walk into the Omaha Qwest Center today for the opening rounds of the State Wrestling Tournament. The Class A & D sessions concluded earlier this afternoon with six area Class D wrestlers guaranteeing themselves a medal reaching the championship semifinals which will begin Friday at 5 p.m. Those wrestlers who advanced to the semifinals are Ansley/Arcadia's Stuart Hircock (160) and Ryan Hircock (189), Mullen's Jared Simonson (130), South Loup's Logan Glendy along with Sumner-Eddyville-Miller's John Frerichs (145) and Traven Claflin (160). Stuart Hircock will wrestle Traven Claflin with the winner to wrestle the 160 pound championship.Other area Class D wrestlers that reached the quarterfinal round but lost and fell into the consolation round are: 130 - Nate McFadden, Sandhills/Thedford and Cale Eacker, SEM; 140 - Jake Wells, Anselmo-Merna; 152 - Colton Rush, Anselmo-Merna and Dylan Chesley, South Loup; 171 - Zach Burden, SEM and Tyrell Wilson, Mullen; 189 - Nick Licking, Mullen; Colten Fales, Anselmo-Merna and at 285 - Joe Gregory, Ansley/Arcadia.Unfortunately for 13 area wrestlers, the day was cut short after first round losses. Those wrestlers were 103 - Tommy Roth, Ansley/Arcadia; 112 - Wyatt Eggleston, South Loup and Kory Phillips, Mullen; 125 - Brady Masters, Ansley/Arcadia; 130 - Tjade Rodocker, Sandhills/Thedford and Bryce Brown, SEM; 135 - Clinton Fauss, South Loup; 140 - Austin Fauss, South Loup; 145 - Jarod Spurlin, MUL; 189 - Collin Donahoo, SEM; 215 - Austin Pierce, SEM and 285 - Charles Kramer, Mullen and Cy Barnes, SEM. These wrestlers will compete again beginning Friday morning at 9:30 a.m. in the consolation rounds.