Nebraska LEAD (Leadership Education/Action Development) Group 40 participants have been announced by the program’s director, Terry Hejny. The two-year program will begin in September.

The newest members of Nebraska's premier two-year agricultural leadership development program are involved in production agriculture and/or agribusiness in Nebraska.

"Once again, it appears that Class 40 is filled with outstanding individuals from throughout our state and I am excited to get started with them. Our task will be to prepare and motivate them for future leadership roles in their community, our state and beyond," Hejny said.

LEAD Fellows will participate in 12 monthly three-day seminars across Nebraska, a 10-day national study/travel seminar and a 14-16 day international study/travel seminar. The goal of the program is to develop problem solvers, decision makers and spokespersons for Nebraska agriculture and beyond.

Seminar themes include: leadership assessment and potential, natural resources and energy, leadership through communication, agricultural policy, international trade and finance, Nebraska’s political process, global perspectives, nuclear energy, social and cultural issues, understanding and developing leadership skills, agribusiness and marketing, information technology, advances in health care, the resources and people of Nebraska’s Panhandle and other areas designed to develop leaders through exposure to a broad array of current topics and issues and how they interrelate.

Nebraska LEAD 40 Fellows by city/town are:

  • AURORA: Mitch Oswald
  • BAYARD: Maggie Dickey
  • BERTRAND: Tanner Nelson
  • COZAD: Andrew Bellamy
  • CREIGHTON: Rylee Stoltz
  • DAVID CITY: Nate Parde
  • GREENWOOD: Steve Landon
  • HEMINGFORD: Timothy Hashman
  • KEARNEY: Abe Smith, Hannah Swink
  • LINCOLN: Austin Benes, Tyson Broekemeier, Eric Coufal, Kurtis Harms, David Moss, Rachel Prosser, Stephanie Schuler, Logan Sheets, Curtis Welsh
  • LINDSAY: Amber Klassen
  • LITCHFIELD: Cole Lewandowski
  • MINDEN: Stephanie Nelson
  • NORFOLK: Trentee Bush
  • OMAHA: Kara Geweke
  • PLEASANTON: Molly Dixon
  • SAINT EDWARD: Dylan Haas
  • SCOTTSBLUFF: Blake Wohlers
  • UPLAND: Chris Grams, Melissa Haack

The Nebraska LEAD Program is sponsored by the non-profit Nebraska Agricultural Leadership Council in cooperation with the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and 12 other institutions of higher education throughout Nebraska.

Recommended for you